AFMÆLI SWEATER {KNIT-A-LONG} WEEK 2

Part 2 - Torso-4

Here we are, second week of the Afmæli K-A-L. We’ve already picked out our colors and established the correct tension (gauge) so it’s time to cast on! You can find the host blog post for this week HERE. My first post is HERE. I choose to use the Old Norwegian cast on (a.k.a German Twisted cast on) since it is a sturdy cast on yet gives a decent amount of stretch for the ribbing.

Part 2 - Torso-2

I casted on with US2’s and worked 1×1 rib for 10 rounds. Now for the fun part – color! I changed to by US5’s and began the colorwork portion, which for me was chart A. This is when I realized that I casted on with the wrong color. If following the pattern I should have cast on with white but I actually liked the grey for the ribbing so I left it. A happy mistake! Once the colorwork was done I ended up staying with US5’s for the body. In my last post I wrote that I had planned to use US4’s for the body but I feel my stitches are tight enough to keep up with the 5’s.

Part 2 - Torso-3

Part 2 - Torso

I moved all of the stitches onto a longer cable and tried on my sweater and it’s perfect. So far so good, I’m really enjoying this knit. Next step – onto the sleeves!

HandWritten2015-PING

Leave a comment